So, you’re going to Las Vegas…

vegas

When I think Vegas, I think gambling.

I am not a gambler.

I mean… I was once,

until I lost $300 in under 10 minutes. I still get ill thinking of it. I have managed to muddle my way through a few pulls on the one armed bandit over the years on cruise boats, but usually get bored and smoke a Cuban cigar on the deck, at night, alone, and enjoy it!

Anyway…

back to Vegas…

…here is a list of 7 sites to see when in Las Vegas on your upcoming trip; I have linked to as many places as I could so you can find up to date info while on your trip.

Enjoy your time, the scenery and the company, happy trails friends!


#1: Red Rock Canyon

17 miles west of Vegas this is a must stop. A 13 mile scenic loop drive for rainy days or lazy ones, hikes of all kinds branch off the drive, so stop and take one.

Stop at Visitor’s Center, 1000 Scenic Loop Drive, Las Vegas, NV, 89161

$7/day vehicle, or America the Beautiful Pass


#2: Ride the Nevada Southern Railroad 

photo: Nevada Southern Railway
photo: Nevada Southern Railway

Trains runs Saturday & Sunday, 10am, 11:30am, 1:00pm, 2:30pm; $10/adult, $5/child, 3 and under free.


#3: Spring Mountains

Just under and hour outside of Vegas you can reach mountain heights from 6,000 to almost 12,000 feet. US 95N then NV 157W.

Stop at Visitor Center: 2525 Kyle Canyon Road, Mt Charleston, NV, 89124


#4: Walk the Historic Railroad Trail

train tunnel
Historic Railroad Trails

Why wouldn’t you? History and tunnels, hiking and outdoors! Carry water! The trails is 3.7 miles one-way to the Hoover Dam, worth the hike.

40 minutes south-east of Vegas, trail head parking located near the Lake Mead Visitors Center at 10 Lakeshore Road, Boulder City, NV 89005

or from the Hoover Dam parking lot.


#5: Visit Zion National Park

It’s a 3 hour drive, but worth it. Drive the Zion Canyon Scenic Drive at the very least, the Springdale entrance is closest to Vegas.

A long day trip, or may I suggest stay the night close-by. Visit the Visitor’s Center, grab a map, talk to a park ranger and listen to their suggestions, read the map and see what hikes interest you and do them.


#6: See Vegas for Vegas

The Strip

Original hotels, the Flamingo

stratosphere…

visit day AND at night.


#7: Hoover Dam

photo: US Department of the Intierior
photo: US Department of the Interior

Does this really need an explanation? Not only is it an engineering feat, it also was in an X-Men movie.


Lastly, I’ve actually never been to Las Vegas beyond a layover and a drive through while driving from LA to Grand Junction but the above are what are on my itinerary should I visit.

Let me know if you go and and what you think.

me- in Zion NP 2015
me- in Zion NP 2015

#theFrugalTravelMom

Leave a comment